A brief History of Kajang via the Kajang Heritage Walk
Tin mining and rubber cultivation led to the establishment of Kajang town. In 1850s, first tin mine in Hulu Langat District was at Rekoh. In 1868, Towkay Chin Ah Chan was offered by Sultan Abdul Samad to open tin mine in Bukit Arang. The Mandailing migrants from Sumatra were the pioneers in opening up forest land in and around Kajang.
Chinese and India migrants moved into Kajang in the 1870s as labourers and traders. 1884 census report of Kajang Town recorded 60 inhabitants, consisted of 19 Chinese, 1 Indian and 40 Sumatrans.
In 1890s, British planters started coffee cultivation in Kajang. However, it failed due to disease infection. In 1895, Kindersly Brothers started planting rubber and were successful. At the same time, the first batch of brick shophouses was built.
In the early 20th century, Kajang had developed into a commercial and administrative centre in Southern Selangor.
Kajang Heritage Centre
Kajang Heritage Centre was established by the Federation of Chinese Associations, Hulu Langat in the year 2000.
The objectives are to promote local history and heritage and to engage people in community building.
Kajang Heritage Centre collaborated with New Era College in Kajang Cultural Mapping project in 2015. Oral history and pictures were recorded.
39A, 1st Floor, Jalan Mandaling, 43000 Kajang, Selangor
Saturday 10.00am – 4.00pm
(Others day upon request)
Tel: +603-8736 0703
Email: [email protected]
Guided Tour – Kajang Heritage Walk
Kajang Heritage Centre conducts unscheduled guided tours along Kajang Heritage Walk which includes the heritage centre, temple, and heritage sites in old town.
- Century Old Shen Sze She Tar Temple
- Persatuan Hokkien Ulu Langat (Former Low Ti Kok Mansion)
- Kajang Post Office
- District Office Hulu Langat
- Masjid Jamek Kajang
- Century Old Tin Mine at Bukit Arang